The Steering Committee

Arlington Democrats elects and appoints party officers for two-year terms, in accordance with the Committee’s bylaws. A current list of elected steering committee members is below (updated Feb 2022). A full list of the entire committee can be had by contacting Arlington County Democratic Committee.

ChairSteve Baker
Deputy ChairMike Hemminger
Communications DirectorPaul Ruiz
Finance ChairElizabeth Morgan
Inclusion & Equity ChairFatima Argun
Outreach & Visibility ChairSangeeta Rao
ParliamentarianCorey Barton
Precinct Operations ChairSarah Lanford
Press & Public Relations ChairIzzie Taveras
SecretaryKim Phillip
TreasurerInta Malis
Volunteer CoordinatorNancy Pilchen
Voter Support ChairKevin McCaffrey
Sergeant-at-ArmsJimmy Rogers

Precinct Captains

Precinct Captains are elected to serve two-year terms in accordance with the party’s bylaws. Captains share responsibility within electoral precincts in teams of two or three, and are aided by Area Chairs, Precinct Leaders and other volunteers.

Precinct Captains organize diverse grassroots activities within their precincts, and coordinate volunteers to accomplish voter outreach and education, and other Democratic party activities throughout the year. To find out more about Precinct Operations or to become a Precinct Captain, visit the Precinct Operations page.

Eighth Congressional District Democratic Committee

The Eighth District Democratic Committee is comprised of Democrats elected from the various jurisdictions that reside in Virginia’s 8th Congressional District. These members represent our congressional district at the state meetings of the Democratic Party of Virginia.

The current membership of the Eighth District Committee can be found here. The members of the Eighth District Committee who live in Arlington also serve as ex officio members of the Steering Committee.